NHL Betting Trends – Predicting the 2010~2011 Stanley Cup

When attempting to predict the upcoming 2010~2011 season’s Stanley Cup champions there are a few statistics and trends that might be useful in summing up what the best bet in the is.

Since the NHL was founded in 1917 in Montreal Canada, a maturation of the National Hockey Association created in 1909, 17* clubs have managed to win the coveted Stanley Cup, the oldest professional sports trophy in North America.  (*defunct teams are not included).

The most successful club in the history of the league is Montreal, having won 24 times. However, the last time the Canadiens won the Stanley Cup was in the 1992-93 season.

The Toronto Maple Leafs are second after Montreal, having won 13 titles. Yet, they are in the midst of a 43-year title drought since their last win in the 1966-67 NHL season.

The Detroit Red Wings are third in line with 11 titles, four of which came in the last two decades. They won back-to-back titles from 1996 to 1998. And two titles in recent memory 2001-2002 and 2007-2008.

BetUS Futures market: The Red Wings are listed at +900 to win the Stanley Cup this year

The Chicago Blackhawks enter the 93 NHL season as the defending Stanley Cup champions. They won their first title in over 50 years when they beat the Philadelphia Flyers in game six, courtesy of an overtime goal by Patrick Kane.

BetUS Futures market:
The Blackhawks are listed at +650 to win the a second straight Stanley Cup.

Since the inception of the NHL, 60 Stanley Cup titles were won by teams from the Eastern Conference. Only 25 Stanley Cup wins are credited to Western Conference teams.

Since 2000, ten Stanley Cups were awarded (the 2005~2006 season was cancelled due to a labour dispute). The Eastern and Western Conference have split the Stanley Cups evenly, five apiece. 

From the Eastern Conference– New Jersey Devils (2000 and 2003), Tampa Bay Lightning (2004), Carolina Hurricanes (2006), Pittsburgh Penguins (2009).

BetUS Futures market:
Pittsburgh Penguins are at a best price of +500 to win the Stanley Cup, a smidgen larger than market favourites Washington Capitals, listed at +450 to win their first-ever Stanley.

From the Western Conference – Colorado Avalanche (2001), Detroit Red Wings (2002 and 2008), Anaheim Ducks (2007) and Chicago Blackhawks (2010).

BetUS Futures market: The Avalanche and the Ducks are long shot bets to win the Stanley Cup this year, listed at +5000 and +3000, respectively.

Team Titles Flashback

  • Montreal Canadiens 24*               E
  • Toronto Maple Leafs 13               E
  • Detroit Red Wings 11                   W
  • Boston Bruins 5                             E
  • Edmonton Oilers 5                        W 
  • Chicago Blackhawks 4                 W
  • New York Islanders 4                   E
  • New York Rangers 4                    E
  • New Jersey Devils 3                      E
  • Pittsburgh Penguins 3                    E
  • Colorado Avalanche 2                  W
  • Philadelphia Flyers 2                     E
  • Anaheim Ducks 1                          W
  • Calgary Flames 1                          W
  • Carolina Hurricanes 1                    E
  • Dallas Stars 1                               W
  • Tampa Bay Lightning 1                   E

*  One championship was before the formation of the NHL

Betting on the NHL Stanley Cup champions is never an exact science but history tells us that more often than not the champions have emerged from the Eastern Conference. This trend has been readdressed over the last decade as a perfect balance between the Conferences clearly has emerged.

But does this mean that this is the emergence of a new trend in the league? A new dominance by the West over the East? Nothing is certain and this question is open to debate; however, if the markets were any indication, the balance overwhelmingly tips in favour of an Eastern Conference team – of which Washington Capitals, Pittsburgh Penguins and the Detroit Red Wings are tipped the shortest.