Skip to content

AFC vs NFC Super Bowl wins

Since the Super Bowl is the biggest yearly sporting event around the globe, it’s no wonder teams representing each of the eight divisions of the NFL attempt to take home the prize. We will check which divisions have been successful when it comes to winning the title.

Let us fittingly begin at the beginning and the dynastic Green Bay Packers. Winners of the first two Super Bowls (dominating the AFL’s Kansas City Chiefs and Oakland Raiders), the Pack just about owned the NFL in the 1960s, and the Super Bowl trophy honors coach Vince Lombardi.
Green Bay brought two other championships to Titletown.

Kansas City Chiefs celebration at the Super Bowl LIV
Kansas City Chiefs celebration at the Super Bowl LIV | Kevin c. Cox/getty images/afp

It was the Pittsburgh Steeler squad winning back-to-back Super Bowls in the 1970s, four in a six-season span (six overall).

The Dallas Cowboys won twice in the 1970s, thrice in the 90s. The San Francisco 49ers just about reversed that script, winning a trio of the 1980s, then twice in the 1990s.

Since the dawn of the new millennium, all the New England Patriots have done is win six Super Bowl titles, matching the Pittsburgh Steelers in terms of wins.

Here’s a look at the 56 Super Bowl trophies, division by division (note the winning team’s divisions are current, and not necessarily the one they represented at time of victory).

Let’s check the latest Super Bowl picks, stats, injury reports, and Super Bowl odds. We’ve got plenty of Super Bowl lines for you to consider.

1. NFC East (13 Super Bowl Trophies)

The NFC East division has more Lombardi Trophies, totaling 13 to date.

The Dallas Cowboys lead with five victories, while the New York Giants have 4. Washington’s then-Redskins have a trio, while the Philadelphia Eagles have one, with a good shot to double that number. The NFC East is the only division where every team has won a Super Bowl trophy.

2. AFC East (Nine Super Bowl Trophies)

So, second in this list is the AFC East, with nine titles. Of course, six of those were courtesy of Tom Brady and the New England Patriots, unquestionably the team of the 2000s. The Miami Dolphins have won twice, back-to-back in the 70s (including the undefeated [17-0] team of 1972). Even the New York Jets have one of their very own, stunning the Baltimore Colts in ‘69 behind quarterback Joe Namath. You can look for information about a specific NFL game, such as the Bengals vs Cowboys matchup.

As the Buffalo Bills go after a first NFL title (they were back-to-back AFL champs), they lost four consecutive Super Bowls (1990 to 1993), so not a pleasant subject in western New York

3. (t)-AFC North, AFC West, NFC West (Eight Super Bowl Trophies each)

There’s a three-way tie between the AFC North, AFC West, and NFC West, each with eight Super Bowl wins to their name.

Within the AFC North, the Pittsburgh Steelers have their aforementioned total of six, while the Baltimore Ravens have a pair. Ohio’s tandem of the Cincinnati Bengals and Cleveland Browns haven’t won, but (technically) the former Browns did (twice) as the current Ravens. So there.

Looking at the AFC West, the Las Vegas Raiders (while in Oakland/Los Angeles) and Denver Broncos each have three wins, while Kansas City has a pair (entering this season’s edition). …and nothing yet with the San Diego/Los Angeles Chargers.

So finally, the San Francisco 49ers with their quintet of titles, the Los Angeles/St, Louis/Los Angeles Rams with two, and the Seattle Seahawks with one. St. Louis/Arizona Cardinals haven’t won squats, though.

Travis Kelce #87 of the Kansas City Chiefs
Travis Kelce #87 of the Kansas City Chiefs | Maddie meyer/getty images/afp

6. NFC North (Five Super Bowl Trophies)

Hail the Green Bay Packers, who laid the Super Bowl’s foundation by winning the first two games. The Pack added a couple more, while the 1985 Chicago Bears featured a destructive defense that probably should’ve been more than a one-hit wonder in this category.

We can’t forget the Minnesota Vikings and their four losses in the 19\70s.

7. NFC South (Three Super Bowl Trophies)

So, before there was Peyton Manning, there was John Unitas and Earl Morrall, three Colt quarterbacks (the latter couple splitting Super Bowl V, the first post-merger game), the three quarterbacks who guided the Colts to titles.

The New Orleans Saints, long a laughing stock in and out of the NFL, had their day in the sun…just once.

8. AFC South (Two Super Bowl Trophies)

So, before Tom Brady, there was Brad Johnson, the two quarterbacks who guided the Tampa Bay Buccaneers to titles.

Did you find this article interesting?

Comments (0)