Skip to content

Super Bowl 58: Mr. Irrelevant Purdy Bucks Odds to Reach Biggest Stage

The stage is set for Super Bowl LVIII. The Kansas City Chiefs will take on the San Francisco 49ers at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas on Feb. 11. These two teams feature superstars and potential future Hall of Famers, but one player many scouts never expected to be in this position comes front and center.

With stat sheet stuffers on both sides of the ball for each franchise, it’s Brock Purdy who will take center stage in front of 130 million people in Super Bowl 58. Purdy’s path to the Super Bowl is unprecedented and unexpected.

Super Bowl 58: Mr. Irrelevant Purdy Bucks Odds to Reach Biggest Stage
Brock Purdy #13 of the San Francisco 49ers | Ezra Shaw/Getty Images/AFP

Purdy was known as “Mr. Irrelevant” after he was the last pick of the 2022 NFL Draft, and now he will be starting the Super Bowl against Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs. Purdy is looking to deliver the 49ers franchise their record-tying sixth Lombardi Trophy and the first since the 49ers’ last Super Bowl win in 1994. San Francisco will have to go through Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs, who denied the 49ers a Super Bowl win four years ago.

If you’re wondering if Brock Purdy is worthy of a Super Bowl MVP bet, the answer is yes. The Super Bowl MVP is awarded to the brightest star on the biggest stage. According to the latest Super Bowl MVP odds, Brock Purdy is priced at +250 – second only to Mahomes.



There have been 57 Super Bowls played in history. A quarterback has been named Super Bowl MVP 32 of 57 times (56.1%). Seven of the last 10 Super Bowl MVPs have been quarterbacks. Mahomes was named MVP of the Super Bowl last season after the Chiefs defeated the Philadelphia Eagles. He was also the MVP in Super Bowl LIV vs. the Niners.

Neither Mahomes nor Purdy is likely going to win the regular-season MVP. Still, it’s worth noting the rarity of the occurrence of the regular-season MVP also winning Super Bowl MVP. This has only been done seven times in Super Bowl history. Bart Starr (1966), Terry Bradshaw (1978), Joe Montana (1989), EmmittSmith (1993), Steve Young (1994), Kurt Warner (1999) and Mahomes (2022).

The Chiefs are currently not the favorite to win the Super Bowl, but Mahomes is ahead of Purdy in MVP odds priced at +135. The Super Bowl line currently has a 1½-point spread. The 49ers are favored at -2. Over the next week, media discussions will be dominated by whether Purdy can outduel Mahomes.

Purdy has been one of the most heavily scrutinized players this season. People worldwide call him a “game manager” or a “system quarterback,” but he can silence those doubters if he delivers a strong performance in Super Bowl LVIII.

Purdy was the MVP favorite heading into Week 16, and he finished the season as one of the best quarterbacks in the NFL in multiple statistical categories. He had a 69.4 completion rate (2nd), 4,280 passing yards (5th), and 31 passing touchdowns (3rd). He led the league in yards per pass attempt (9.6) and expected points added (EPA) per dropback. He finished first in completion rate, passer rating and EPA on throws of 10 or more yards downfield.

In San Francisco’s two playoff games, Purdy orchestrated two comeback wins. He has been branded as the prototypical game manager who couldn’t lead his team from behind, but he did just that in the Divisional Round and the NFC Championship. He even used his legs to defeat the Detroit Lions, torturing them on third downs with five scrambles for a first down. It’s something we’ve grown accustomed to watching Mahomes do so well.

Purdy has flipped the modern-day quarterback discourse on its head. He may not have the same athleticism or experience as his Super Bowl opponent, but he has certainly won over the minds and hearts of his teammates and the Bay Area heading into Super Bowl LVIII.


Questions of the Day

What Day Is The Super Bowl?

Super Bowl LVIII will occur at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas on Sunday, Feb. 11 at 6:30 p.m. ET.

How Many Super Bowls Have The 49ers Won?

The 49ers have won five Super Bowl titles (1982, 1985, 1989, 1990 and 1994).


The odds and predictions in the article are based on the time of writing and publication. They may differ as to when the actual event takes place.

Did you find this article interesting?

Comments (0)