Preakness Stakes Betting

Preakness Stakes History & Wagering

The second race of the Triple Crown line-up is upon us, and horse-racing fans are excited for the possibility of a Triple Crown winner in 2010.  All eyes and hopes are on Super Saver!

As the winner of the Kentucky Derby, Super Saver is only two victories away from becoming a Triple Crown champion, although this is a feat rarely accomplished.  If Super Saver can win “The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans,” he will be one step closer.

The attendance and popularity of the Preakness Stakes is second only to the Kentucky Derby, and the purse for the race is $1 million.  Fans of horse racing must be a part of this action.  By joining BetUS and following our picks, props, and advice, fans can share in the excitement and winnings of this unique race!

The interesting history of the Preakness Stakes began a few months before the outbreak of the Civil War in 1861. Maryland had the first run for the Woodlawn Vase, what is now the trophy for the Preakness Stakes.

While the first Preakness Stakes was run in 1873 (won by 11-1 long shot, Survivor), the Woodlawn Vase was not given to the winner of the Preakness until Kalitan won in 1917; it has been awarded to the winner ever since.

The winner of the inaugural race was Milton Stanford’s Preakness (out of a seven-horse field). By 1873 Pimlico introduced another stakes race for three-year-olds. The Governor of Baltimore, Maryland decided to name the race after the first winner at Pimlico. The Preakness Stakes was born.

Despite the importance of the Preakness Stakes to Pimlico, the Preakness has not always been run at Pimlico. In 1889 the racing industry changed and the Preakness Stakes moved to Morris Park in Bronx, NY. It then took three years off and was moved to Gravesend in Brooklyn, New York in 1894 until returning to Pimlico in 1909.

It was not until after the end of World War I that the Preakness would host it’s first eventual Triple Crown winner – Sir Barton, who won the then mile and an eighth race.

Preakness Stakes Past Champions

Year Horse Name Jockey
2010 Lookin At Lucky Martin Garcia
2009 Rachel Alexandrea Calvin Borel
2008 Big Brown K. Desormeaux
2007 Curlin R. Albarado
2006 Bernardini J. Castellano
2005 Afleet Alex Jeremy Rose
2004 Smarty Jones S. Elliott
2003 Funny Cide J. Santos
2002 War Emblem V. Espinoza
2001 Point Given G. Stevens
2000 Red Bullet J. Bailey
1999 Charismatic C. Antley
1998 Real Quiet K. Desormeaux
1997 Silver Charm G. Stevens
1996 Louis Quatorze P. Day
1995 Timber Country P. Day
1994 Tabasco Cat P. Day
1993 Prairie Bayou M. Smith
1992 Pine Bluff C. McCarron
1991 Hansel J. Bailey
1990 Summer Squall P. Day
1989 Sunday Silence P. Valenzuela
1988 Risen Star E. Delahoussaye
1987 Alysheba C. McCarron
1986 Snow Chief A. Solis
1985 Tank’s Prospect P. Day
1984 Gate Dancer A. Cordero, Jr.
1983 Deputed Testamony D. Miller, Jr.
1982 Aloma’s Ruler J. Kaenel
1981 Pleasant Colony J. Velasquez
1980 Codex A. Cordero, Jr.
1979 Spectacular Bid R. Franklin
1978 Affirmed (T) S. Cauthen
1977 Seattle Slew (T) J. Cruguet
1976 Elocutionist J. Lively
1975 Master Derby D. McHargue
1974 Little Current M. Rivera
1973 Secretariat (T) R. Turcotte
1972 Bee Bee Bee E. Nelson
1971 Canonero II G. Avila
1970 Personality E. Belmonte
1969 Majestic Prince W. Hartack
1968 Forward Pass I. Valenzuela
1967 Damascus W. Shoemaker
1966 Kauai King D. Brumfield
1965 Tom Rolfe R. Turcotte
1964 Northern Dancer W. Hartack
1963 Candy Spots W. Shoemaker
1962 Greek Money J. Rotz
1961 Carry Back J. Sellers
1960 Bally Ache R. Ussery
1959 Royal Orbit W. Harmatz
1958 Tim Tam I. Valenzuela
1957 Bold Ruler E. Arcaro
1956 Fabius W. Hartack
1955 Nashua E. Arcaro
1954 Hasty Road J. Adams
1953 Native Dancer E. Guerin
1952 Blue Man C. McCreary
1951 Bold E. Arcaro
1950 Hill Prince E. Arcaro
1949 Capot T. Atkinson
1948 Citation (T) E. Arcaro
1947 Faultless D. Dodson
1946 Assault (T) W. Mehrtens
1945 Polynesian W. Wright
1944 Pensive C. McCreary
1943 Count Fleet (T) J. Longden
1942 Alsab (T) B. James
1941 Whirlaway E. Arcaro
1940 Bimelech F. Smith
1939 Challedon G. Seabo
1938 Dauber M. Peters
1937 War Admiral (T) C. Kurtsinger
1936 Bold Venture G. Woolf
1935 Omaha W. Saunders
1934 High Quest R. Jones
1933 Head Play C. Kurtsinger
1932 Burgoo King E. James
1931 Mate G. Ellis
1930 Gallant Fox (T) E. Sande
1929 Dr. Freeland L. Schaefer
1928 Victorian R. Workman
1927 Bostonian A. Abel
1926 Display J. Maiben
1925 Coventry C. Kummer
1924 Nellie Morse J. Merimee
1923 Vigil B. Marinelli
1922 Pillory L. Morris
1921 Broomspun F. Coltiletti
1920 Man o’ War C. Kummer
1919 Sir Barton (T) J. Loftus
1918 War Cloud (1st Edition) J. Loftus
1918 Jack Hare Jr.(2nd Edition) C. Peak
1917 Kalitan E. Haynes
1916 Damrosch I. McAtee
1915 Rhine Maiden D. Hoffman
1914 Holiday Schuttinger
1913 Buskin Butwell
1912 Col. Holloway C. Turner
1911 Watervale E. Dugan
1910 Layminster Estep
1909 Effendi W. Doyle
1908 Royal Tourist E. Dugan
1907 Don Enrique G. Mountain
1906 Whimsical W. Miller
1905 Cairngorm W. Davis
1904 Bryn Mawr Hildebrand
1903 Flocarline W. Gannon
1902 Old England L. Jackson
1901 The Parader Landry
1900 Hindus H. Spencer
1899 Half Time R. Clawson
1898 Sly Fox W. Simms
1897 Paul Kauvar Thorpe
1896 Margrave H. Griffin
1895 Belmar F. Taral
1894 Assignee F. Taral
1890 Montague W. Martin
1889 Buddhist Anderson
1888 Refund Littlefield
1887 Dunboyne W. Donohue
1886 The Bard Fisher
1885 Tecumseh J. McLaughlin
1884 Knight of Ellerslie Fisher
1883 Jacobus G. Barbee
1882 Vanguard Costello
1881 Saunterer Costello
1880 Grenada L. Hughes
1879 Harold L. Hughes
1878 Duke of Magenta C. Holloway
1877 Cloverbrook C. Holloway
1876 Shirley G. Barbee
1875 Tom Ochiltree L. Hughes
1874 Culpepper W. Donohue
1873 Survivor G. Barbee

Do you love to bet on horse races? The BetUS Racebook is your source for horse racing betting. There are over 100 Horse, Harness and Greyhound tracks available from around the world. Join BetUS today for the latest horse racing odds, racing news and horse racing picks.

Stay Connected